Viking Library System is a federated regional public library system serving the six west central Minnesota counties of Douglas, Grant, Otter Tail, Pope, Stevens and Traverse. First organized in 1975, it has eleven member libraries located in Alexandria, Browns Valley, Elbow Lake, Fergus Falls, Glenwood, Hancock, Morris, New York Mills, Pelican Rapids, Perham, and Wheaton.


We are one of four regional public library systems in Minnesota that is identified as a combination system. Combination systems have independent member libraries and also offer direct services to the public. Although local public libraries are members of the regional system, these independent city and county libraries retain local governance, seek local funding, hire local staff and determine local library expenditures. The regional library system both provides services to its member libraries and also receives county funds to provide direct services to the public in areas primarily outside of the member library communities. The system board is responsible for both region-wide services to the member libraries and for library services delivered directly to the public.

Phone 218.739.5286

Fax 218.739.5287

  • Facebook Social Icon

1915 Fir Avenue West | Fergus Falls, Minnesota 56537, USA

Open Monday - Friday, 9:00 am to 5:00 pm | Closed holidays